The Bibliophile Chronicles: Mostly A Literary Blog

Home » Blogging » Racing Thoughts Of A Bipolar Writer No. 4: Why I Haven’t Blogged Lately

Racing Thoughts Of A Bipolar Writer No. 4: Why I Haven’t Blogged Lately

PapaIt has been exactly 11 days since my last blog post. For me, that’s like not having written for years. But I can give you one major reason for this: my father, Justice Undersecretary Francisco Fontelera Baraan III, was admitted to Makati Medical Center because there was fresh blood in his stool — between two and three glasses of fresh blood.

After being admitted and after a series of tests, the doctors found a mass of malignant tumor in his colon, and said my father had to undergo immediate operation to remove the cancerous cells and to check in the biopsy the gravity of his condition.

I was in Switzerland when I heard about the news, and had to cut short my European holidays because of it. I immediately re-booked my flight back here to the Philippines because I had to make it to his colon operation (last Saturday afternoon). Thankfully, we were told that the operation was successful. Now, we’re waiting for the result of the biopsy to know if he has to undergo chemotherapy to kill the bad cells, if the stage of his cancer is beyond the 2B stage. Hopefully, it wouldn’t come to that.

To my readers and followers, I would like you to know that I shall continue blogging regularly, and will continue giving you book reviews, literary advice, and will continue sharing my thoughts and opinions on things that matter, if the result of the biopsy is positive news. Otherwise, I don’t think I’d be able to write and think properly for a long time as I have to take care of father, too.

For now, I urge you to please pray for my father’s health and speedy recovery. He is, at the moment, still convalescing at the hospital, and being given the best medical attention by the best doctors in our country. Our family had been advised that the biopsy results will be revealed a week after the operation, and I have been very anxious lately.

I do hope and pray that the test results will be good. My utmost priority now is my father’s health, so blogging and writing will have to take a backseat, in the meantime. I shall continue updating this blog regularly like I did before once everything is okay. My only request for now is that you include my father in your prayers.

Thank you so much, and may God bless us all.

 

14 Comments

  1. slepsnor says:

    Good luck and prayers to you and your family.

  2. Oh no! Hope it works out ok!

  3. Thank you so much. I hope so, too. =)

  4. Good luck to your father, and the family as well. I hope he has an easy, speedy recovery.

  5. Praying your father gets through this period well. Also wishing you the strength to be there for him; I can only imagine what a tough time it is for you both. Tale care.

  6. Thank you so much. God bless. =)

  7. Shinette Khoury says:

    Francis, I’m so disheartened reading this and finding out the exact details about your father’s health to this moment. I had no idea other than he was rushed to the hospital and was operated on.
    I’m just next door to you. Anytime you need to unwind, anything I can do to help, pls. don’t hesitate. I’m here praying for you all. I will send you cell number. I lost all my contact numbers when I changed phones.

  8. Melinda says:

    Good luck! My thoughts and prayers are with your father, you and the family

  9. evewc18 says:

    You have a great attitude–take care of yourself. I hope your father’s biopsy results in good news and that his health improves.

  10. “Like” is the wrong word for this …. I just wanted to add my words of support and wishes for strength for you and your family.

  11. indytony says:

    Allow me to add my prayers for you and your father. May God bless you both.

Leave a Reply

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Andy Kaufman's Kavalkade Krew Featuring The Wandering Poet

Poetry, Musical Parodies, Music Videos, Social & Political Commentary, Humor & Reviews

Always Reading

"Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested."

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

A little adventure

A lifestyle and adventure blog

Somewhere over the rainbow: life in Hell

Taking care of one 1 sick parent is hard. Dealing with two sick parents is hell.

The Allure Of My Pen

"transcending the minds of filipino educators"

adventuresofaa

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

I.J. Keddie

Poet (of sorts). I'm hiding behind your curtains.

MirrorScript

“Your words to me, like the pages of a book; Only the sound, like water, leaves me breathless.”- Richard Follette

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Kartoons and Rainbows and Butterflies

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Miss Starcake

bittersweet in the right amount

