The Bibliophile Chronicles: Mostly A Literary Blog

Home » Uncategorized » Shopping Spree

Shopping Spree

I am famous for my shopping sprees. Whenever I go to the mall, I head for my favorite bookstore, Booksale, because it has the cheapest, largest, and greatest titles available in a 20×10 square feet of space. The bookshelves are filled to the brim with the latest books by some of my favorite authors, some of them sold at a fifth of the original price.

A week before I visited the store last Sunday, I browsed some books on Amazon and came across a book called “The Know-It-All” by A.J. Jacobs. It’s about a man’s quest to read the whole set of the Brittanica Encyclopedia to be the world’s smartest man. The price: $11.66 on Amazon. I wanted to click the “Buy with 1-click” option but decided against it. I’m glad I didn’t buy it because I saw the paperback copy at Booksale for only P115, almost a fifth of the price on Amazon. Along with it, I bought around 40 more books that I really Iiked. The photos above are some of them. I started reading “The Know-It-All” the other night and I am telling you, it is really hilarious! I knew from the moment I saw it on Amazon and after reading the free first paragraph that it was going to be one of those truly funny books.

I will post my review on it as soon as I finish it. In the meantime, I am just happy to have had a successful book shopping again–great books bought at a bargain that they’re practically free!

Oh, well. What can I tell you? I go crazy in bookstores. I don’t go on a buying spree because I have an impulse problem (at least I don’t want to see it that way). I go on a buying spree because I genuinely love books.

If you love you books the way I do, I’m pretty sure you’d understand where I’m coming from.

20130115-193958.jpg

20130115-194037.jpg

1 Comment

  1. Yes, me too. I still love a “real” book. But I’m growing an ever bigger collection on my ereader too. How about you?

Leave a Reply

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Andy Kaufman's Kavalkade Krew Featuring The Wandering Poet

Poetry, Musical Parodies, Music Videos, Social & Political Commentary, Humor & Reviews

Always Reading

"Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested."

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

A little adventure

A lifestyle and adventure blog

Somewhere over the rainbow: life in Hell

Taking care of one 1 sick parent is hard. Dealing with two sick parents is hell.

The Allure Of My Pen

"transcending the minds of filipino educators"

adventuresofaa

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

I.J. Keddie

Poet (of sorts). I'm hiding behind your curtains.

MirrorScript

“Your words to me, like the pages of a book; Only the sound, like water, leaves me breathless.”- Richard Follette

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Kartoons and Rainbows and Butterflies

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Miss Starcake

bittersweet in the right amount

