The Bibliophile Chronicles: Mostly A Literary Blog

Home » Uncategorized » On Being Bored And Being Busy

On Being Bored And Being Busy

I hate using the sentences “I’m so bored” or I’m so busy” because being so bored means you’re too unimaginative to do something productive while being so busy means you’re just bragging about being overworked. But I use them sometimes to emphasize a certain situation. I’m never really bored and I’m never that busy in an office-work kind of way. I’m busy in a writer-philosopher kind of way, though. Being busy with administrative or clerical work is not the same as being busy with thinking or planning about something. I think the latter is actually the good kind of busy. The former is just rote routine.

SO, what exactly is it to be bored or to be busy, to you? I think it’s really relative, don’t you think? All I do know is that I don’t want to be seen as a bored guy so I keep myself busy with whatever I think will make me happy at the moment. For now, I’m just thinking and writing. I hate being bored, and I hate saying “I’m so bored.” That just really means your brain is dead and you’re too lazy to think of ways to be of use. Be useful. Use that pent-up energy for something. Read a book, spook your friends or maids. Anything. Just don’t be a couch potato watching TV all day long. There is nothing worse than being bored than wasting away your life doing something unproductive and unimaginative. Wake up. Think, think, think. And then do something about it.

2 Comments

  1. beduwen says:

    I agree with you on the “busy” part…. I am always busy thinking about something – whether it’s a story idea, a character, something I want to do or try, etc etc. And I am never bored. How can the creative mind ever be bored? It’s impossible!

  2. K.Lauren Miller says:

    Hi Francis, aka: Built to love books. I think I could have written your blog myself as we share the same philosophy. I collect books, basically through the genre of titles from reference to the obscure to short stories and the best writing I can find. From Jack London to Isaac Marion(Warm Bodies), I give all of them a chance at my time. Like you, I am never bored because I’m busy writing or reading or working out or walking my dog, Bunny(dachshund). Anyway, enjoyed your blog and am following you on Twitter. My novel: The Starling Trilogy(book 1) is science fiction and dystopian.

Leave a Reply

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

Andy Kaufman's Kavalkade Krew Featuring The Wandering Poet

Poetry, Musical Parodies, Music Videos, Social & Political Commentary, Humor & Reviews

Always Reading

"Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested."

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

A little adventure

A lifestyle and adventure blog

Somewhere over the rainbow: life in Hell

Taking care of one 1 sick parent is hard. Dealing with two sick parents is hell.

The Allure Of My Pen

"transcending the minds of filipino educators"

adventuresofaa

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

I.J. Keddie

Poet (of sorts). I'm hiding behind your curtains.

MirrorScript

“Your words to me, like the pages of a book; Only the sound, like water, leaves me breathless.”- Richard Follette

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

ColorTheBooks Blog

Official Blog of Kevin Cullen & Friends

Kartoons and Rainbows and Butterflies

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Miss Starcake

bittersweet in the right amount

